China Rises

Sunday, March 4, 2018 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm

Civitas Ensemble, a chamber music group made up of three members of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and pianist Winston Choi, will perform three works by living Chinese-born composers as well as a traditional Chinese folk piece for piano and pipa, a traditional Chinese instrument. The program will include: “Emanations of Tara” by Yao Chen, “Five Elements” by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Zhou Long, “Tibetan Dance” by Bright Sheng, and “Chun Jiang Hua Yue Ye" (A Moonlit Night on the Spring River), a traditional folk tune arranged by composer Wu ZuQiang.

Three guest artists will be joining the ensemble: Chen Yihan (pipa), Cynthia Yeh (percussion) and Emma Gerstein (flute/piccolo).

The performance at the Art Institute of Chicago is part of the museum’s Chamber Music series, and concert tickets include admission to the museum. Stay after the concert to learn more about Chinese history as told through its Bronze Age culture.

Tickets are $33.

Location and contact
Art Institute of Chicago
11 S. Michigan.
Chicago  Illinois  66003
United States
Contact Phone Number: 
Contact Email: